Pain in the ass 2

Standard

Update Sunday 3rd January 11am

My hip pain is slowly improving so it seems that this may not have been a relapse after all. A massive “yey” to that! The eye symptom persists but this could easily just be tiredness so I will focus on resting and see if that helps.

I suspect the issue with my hip was some kind of musculoskeletal niggle, rather than an MS symptom. But this last few days has reiterated to me just what living with MS means. Every twinge, every odd sensation, sends me into a quandary of questions. Is this a new symptom? Is this going to be something that comes and goes away or will I be stuck with this as a permanent fixture? And how could I/ would I adapt if this was here to stay? What is my current plan if this DOES turn out to be a relapse? What is going on in my life and how would I need to adapt my plans in order to accommodate this? So many questions spin around in my head.

I am lucky this time (she says tentatively) that this appears to be diminishing and will hopefully return to “normal” (just the usual achy, heavy sensations that have become the norm) with no lasting damage or huge impact on my life.  This has just been a reminder not to take for granted my ability to walk around, albeit it slowly, without severe pain, as well as a reminder about the constant uncertainty that MS brings.

But, for now, for today, things are looking better. So for that, I am grateful.

3 thoughts on “Pain in the ass 2

  1. I know what you mean about being aware of every little twinge and odd sensation. On Christmas Eve I had to leave our Church in the middle of the carol service because I suddenly felt strange. Like you I thought it was a possible relapse, but thankfully it went away after a good night’s sleep. It is important to listen to you body because it may be telling you to slow down or rest more frequently. I use an osteopath to keep my spine aligned, and I also have an acupuncturist, plus a local charity that provides free massage therapies for people with MS. I still have whole days when I need to stay in bed, these complimentary therapies are not a cure, but I’ve finally accepted that’s how life is. I do what I can when I can, and stop when I need to. This year it will be 6 years since my diagnosis and 17 years since my first symptoms, so I’ve had longer to make that adjustment. And yes, I still get frustrated by my limitations. I hope you continue to improve and that the hip pain goes away completely.
    Michele xx

  2. Ah thank you Michele. It is so reassuring to hear from others that have the same issues, and the same concerns about them when they do crop up. You are so right about listening to your body. I am still on a learning curve about when to plough through and when to “give in” (a phrase I happen to hate as it is associated with weakness, whereas I think it actually takes far more strength to realise that you need to stop and rest a while). I was considering using an osteopath or chiropractor to prevent and alleviate any problems with posture or movement. Do you find the osteopathy useful? xx

    • Yes, osteopathy has been really useful for me. My osteopath is trained in cranial as well as the general type of osteopathy. In my experience the treatments I’ve had from her have improved my relapse recovery time. The first time my left leg went numb it took months for the sensation to return. After I found Jane, and went to her when that symptom returned, I recovered sensation in weeks. I completely agree with you about the phrase “giving in” having negative connotations. Think of it as positive symptom management, after all if you broke your ankle you wouldn’t carry on walking on it. I often wish there was a visible outward sign of what’s happening on the inside of our bodies. That way everyone could see the problem and not make stupid comments like: “But you look so well”. That one often makes me want to slap the person saying it!

Leave a Reply

